Mother’s Day

Bobbi June
so many selves contained within
your singular lovely body:
daughter, sister, student,
equestrian, pianist, skier,
artist, model, poet,
calligrapher, baker, knitter,
storyteller and historian,
listener extraordinaire,
friend to many, wife to one.

To me you were simply
Mother, Mommy, Mom
who gave me life and form,
nurtured me, loved me
exalted me beyond reason
or attainable reality, while
inspiring me to be my best
never seeing in me anything less.

Too many years now
I have missed you,
every single day, missing you.
Your lifetime now ephemeral moments
trusted to this ethereal memory.
So I touch these photos of you,
trace with my finger your smile,
wrap myself in your knitted afghan,
reread your letters, your cards,
everything you touched made special
by your abiding love still present.
Our mother-daughter bond
as enduring as gravity, beyond death,
my life, my heart, my soul
a part of you…
just one singular unique part
of your multifaceted person
who all others knew simply as
Bobbi June.

Mother and Me February 1953,  Miami Beach, FL

Mother and I
February 1953
Miami Beach, FL

About P C Niles

Living along the rural and majestic coast of southern Oregon, P C Niles has found her forever home. She shares this home with her husband, Stephen, numerous cats and a dog, and an assortment of visiting wildlife. Pursuits include writing, meditating, reading, yoga, gardening, cooking, photography, and beach walking. Graced by serendipity daily.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mother’s Day

  1. Catherine van Vliet-Saivres says:

    A great tribute to your mother, Pam. Love it!

  2. Lovely words, honoring your mother and your deep, abiding love for her. She would be proud I am sure.

  3. NanLeah says:

    Really lovely honoring of your Mother. I too am missing my mother this day, and have a lump in my throat. Thank you for this sharing.

  4. P C Niles says:

    Thank you, my three fair ladies. Appreciate your kind comments.

Leave a Reply

