In the beginning…

I am back, with a new blog, my previous two — abandoned long ago.

Here I will get back to my roots, writing about the things I love, not politics or current events which dominated those previous two.  This blog will be about the beauty often found right in front of me on any particular day.  I just turn the corner and there it is.  Has that happened to you?  It’s easy to miss.

Today, I went to a yoga class, which I just recently started attending.  We focused on the Warrior Pose, practicing it in its various forms and intensities.  We also performed that horrendous pretzel move, more commonly known as the Eagle Pose.  Struggle and stretch as I may, I cannot get my hand clasped together… 

It’s an odd practice, yoga, when you think about it.  Odd and difficult, but when done and done well, stretches not only the body, but the mind and spirit.

You cannot do yoga. Yoga is your natural state. What you can do are yoga exercises, which may reveal to you where you are resisting your natural state. ~Sharon Gannon

For many year now I have sought out a natural state of being.  Through meditation, exercise, conscious and mostly vegetarian eating, and daily journaling, I have turned towards that inner core of well-being we all process but which often gets shrouded by the stress and anxiety of modern-day living, and materialism.  Once you have everything you need, and you still find yourself dissatisfied, your search turns internal.

You cannot always control what goes on outside. But you can always control what goes on inside. ~Mr. Yoga

And that is key: controlling what is going on inside.  However, I’m uncomfortable with the word, ‘control’ because it connotes a sense of struggle.  I have found that internally, control is not fully possible, and as we all find out, externally it is truly impossible!

No, it’s more about acceptance and allowing what is naturally arising within (all those emotions and thoughts) which is usually a reaction to the external world, to be as it is, fully, without having to change it, and especially not judging it as good or bad, right or wrong.  For it’s true:  Our natural state of being is perfect as it is.

Now, if only I might fully realize that, without having to twist myself into a pretzel to do so.

In theory, practice and theory are the same. In practice they are not. ~Yogi Berra

About P C Niles

Living along the rural and majestic coast of southern Oregon, P C Niles has found her forever home. She shares this home with her husband, Stephen, numerous cats and a dog, and an assortment of visiting wildlife. Pursuits include writing, meditating, reading, yoga, gardening, cooking, photography, and beach walking. Graced by serendipity daily.
This entry was posted in Prose, Quotes, Writings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the beginning…

  1. Evi says:

    And a nice beginning it is. Looking forward to many more posts.

Leave a Reply

